Rafael Nadal Wins His 10th French Open

It was history in the making in Paris for the King of Clay! Spain’s Rafael Nadal won a record 10th French Open title with victory over Stan Wawrinka. 31 year old Nadal won in straight sets 6-2 6-3 6-1 to claim his 15th major title. Nadal moves past Pete Sampras on the list of all-time Grand Slam winners into 2nd place behind Roger Federer.  Only Australia’s Margaret Court has more victories at a single Grand Slam tournament with 11 Australian Open wins between 1960 and 1973. Martina Navratilova won Wimbledon nine times, while Roger Federer and Pete Sampras are the only post-war players among a group of six men to have won a Grand Slam seven times. Nadal won the French Open in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017.   Nadal said: “I play my best in all events but the feeling I have here is impossible to describe and you can’t compare it. “The nerves and adrenaline I feel on this court is impossible to compare. It’s the most important event in my career. Wawrinka has the out most respect and said “Rafa, I have nothing to say about today. You were too good. You are a great example and it’s always been an honour to play against you. Congratulations on your career, to you and your team.”

Source BBC

Featured Image from Getty: Photo below from Reuters

Posted in Announcer Blogs, Tony Monaco, What You Need To Know Tagged with: , , , ,