DeMar DeRozan Wins The Magic Johnson Award

Congrats Deebo! The Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA) named Toronto Raptors guard DeMar DeRozan as the winner of the 2017-18 Magic Johnson Award, which honours the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public. He joins Chris Bosh (2009-10) as the only other player in franchise history to receive the award. DeRozan said “I’m grateful to the reporters and broadcasters who cover our league, who love our game and who communicate with our fans every day. So thank you to the PBWA for this award. It’s very special for an L.A. guy to receive an honour named for Magic.” Kevin Durant of the Golden State Warriors, Paul George of the Oklahoma City Thunder, Manu Ginobili of the San Antonio Spurs and Al Horford of the Boston Celtics also were finalists for the award. The PBWA created the Magic Johnson Award in 2001.

Three raptors will participate in the 3rd NBA Africa Game 2018 in Africa Saturday, Aug. 4 at 5:00 pm CAT at Sun Arena at Time Square in Pretoria, South Africa. The NBA Africa Game 2018 will once again feature a Team Africa vs. Team World format. Team Africa will be composed of players born in Africa or with direct family ties to the continent, and Team World will be composed of players from the rest of the world. Team Africa will include Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2011), Al-Farouq Aminu (Portland Trail Blazers; U.S.; parents from Nigeria), Bismack Biyombo (Orlando Magic; Democratic Republic of the Congo), Cheick Diallo (New Orleans Pelicans; Mali), Evan Fournier (Magic; France; parent from Algeria), Serge Ibaka (Toronto Raptors; Republic of the Congo), Timothe Luwawu-Cabarrot (76ers; France; parent from Democratic Republic of the Congo), and Pascal Siakam (Raptors; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2012). Team World will include DeMar DeRozan (Raptors; U.S.), Harrison Barnes (Dallas Mavericks; U.S.), Danilo Gallinari (LA Clippers; Italy; BWB Europe 2003), Rudy Gay (San Antonio Spurs; U.S.), Khris Middleton (Milwaukee Bucks; U.S.), and Hassan Whiteside (Miami Heat; U.S.). Full rosters of players, coaches and legends will be announced at a later date.

Game 3 of the NBA Finals is Wednesday night at 9pm in Cleveland. The Golden State Warriors lead the Cavs 2-0.

Source: NBA

Featured Image and post below from Twitter: @Raptors

Posted in Announcer Blogs, Tony Monaco, What You Need To Know Tagged with: , , , , ,