The Catholic Church Clarifies Your Communion Wafers Must Have Gluten

Catholics on a gluten-free diet should keep this in mind when receiving Holy Communion during Mass celebrations.  The Vatican has decreed that Communion wafers (hosts) used in the ceremony must contain gluten.  The directive went out to bishops worldwide in a letter posted by Vatican Radio.  “Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist,” reads the letter, which spells out that the bread “must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition.”  Using anything else to make it gluten-free is thus off-limits.  Low-gluten wafers are fine, however.

Photo Credit: The Vatican

Posted in News, Scott Fox